Chris Rushworth named PCA cricketer of the year

Published: Wednesday 30th September 2015 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

Durham seamer Chris Rushworth has been named Professional Cricketers’ Association player of the year, with awards also going to Stuart Broad, Tom Curran and Anya Shrubsole.

The 29-year-old Rushworth was the top wicket-taker in LV= County Championship Division One with a tally of 83 scalps at 20.61.

That earned him the prestigious award, as voted for by his peers, at the PCA’s annual awards dinner at London’s Tobacco Dock.

Surrey’s 20-year-old pace prospect Curran was named young player of the year after taking 76 wickets in the Brown Caps’ Division Two title win.

Elsewhere on the night Broad, who flies to Dubai with the rest of the England squad on Wednesday morning, picked up the Investec Test player of the year gong and Shrubsole became the Waitrose women’s player of the year.

Gloucestershire captain Michael Klinger doubled up as NatWest T20 Blast and Royal London One-Day Cup player of the year. The Australian scored 1,185 runs in 20 innings across the two competitions, with six hundreds and six fifties. Worcestershire’s Ross Whiteley won the Sky Cricket sixes award.

Rushworth, who finished the season with an even 100 wickets in all competitions, now hopes to follow in the footsteps of other recent winners by earning an England call.

“I am over the moon,” he said after beating Yorkshire batsman Jonny Bairstow, Kent’s Matt Coles and retiring Lancashire batsman Ashwell Prince to the award. “It is a massive achievement.

“For myself this award is massive and the biggest individual award in county cricket.

“To be voted for by fellow players and your peers is a very privileged moment and one I’m very proud of.

“Hopefully it’s the next step to progressing towards further honours.

“The guys that have won it in recent years have gone on to play Test cricket, like Adam Lyth, Moeen Ali and Nick Compton, so that is definitely in my sights. Hopefully I have another good season next year and I can put my name in the hat for Test selection.”

Curran, who finished the season as the top wicket-taker in the country across all formats with 105, might be nine years Rushworth’s junior but he is chasing the same dream having replicated the achievement of former young players of the year Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Ben Stokes and Joe Root.

“Playing for England would be the ultimate for any young cricketer and that is my goal but I am concentrating on Surrey first and hopefully the rest will take care of itself,” he said.

“It’s a special award to receive as it’s an award voted by players from around the country, so I think that reason in itself is why it is such a prestigious award and I’m very proud.”

Shrubsole was a key performer with the white and red ball for England this summer in the face of a losing women’s Ashes campaign.

“Despite not achieving what we wanted as a team, I am pleased with the way I bowled,” she noted.

“It’s nice to do well personally but it was just a shame we didn’t quite regain the Ashes.”

Lancashire and England paceman James Anderson presented the special merit award to his county chairman Jim Cumbes, while the England and Wales Cricket Board special award went to Lord Bill Morris and was accepted on his behalf by ECB chairman Colin Graves.

PCA Team of the Year: AN Cook (captain, Essex & England), AD Hales (Nottinghamshire & England), JE Root (Yorkshire & England), SA Northeast (Kent), LJ Wright (Sussex), BA Stokes (Durham & England), AL Davies (Lancashire), SCJ Broad (Nottinghamshire & England), MT Coles (Kent), JS Patel (Warwickshire), C Rushworth (Durham).

Published: Wednesday 30th September 2015 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

Local business search