Naomi Broady’s run in Auckland continues with battling win over Jelena Ostapenko

Published: Wednesday 6th January 2016 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

Naomi Broady built on her impressive win over Ana Ivanovic in the ASB Classic in Auckland with a battling second-round win over Jelena Ostapenko.

The British number three stunned former world number one Ivanovic in the opening round on Tuesday for her first win over a top-20 player and she repeated the heroics again, twice saving match points before reeling off six successive games to triumph 4-6 7-6 (7/4) 7-5.

Such a victory looked unlikely for Broady, ranked 122 in the world, as was broken three times in the opening set and a routine defeat was on the cards as she faced her first match point at 5-2 in the second.

But saving that inspired an outstanding revival as she claimed four of the next five games to force a tie-break, which she won 7/4 to set up a decider.

The Latvian, who is the world number 84, thought she had the game wrapped up after an impressive start to the third set, but wasted another match point at 5-3 and Broady rallied from 5-1 to win the next six games and take the set and ultimately victory.

The game was marred with controversy, though, as Broady demanded referee Blaze Trifunovski to disqualify Ostapenko during the second-set tie-break.

The Latvian inexplicably threw her racquet after Broady had hit a clean winner and it appeared to hit a ball boy. Broady was almost in tears as she pleaded with Trifunovski to end the game.

The referee allowed proceedings to continue, though, and it was Broady who had the last laugh after her rally before giving her opponent a verbal volley after shaking hands.

On her comeback she said in a courtside interview: “I was so so tired. At 5-2 down in the second set I started getting cramp and I thought ‘oh no’, but the crowd just kept getting behind me.

“I just thought ‘keep going, one point at a time’ and somehow I managed to get all the way back. I think she was tightening up a little bit and that allowed me to get a better strike on the ball.

“I don’t know what what just happened really.”

Published: Wednesday 6th January 2016 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

Local business search