Public to vote for BBC sports award

Published: Sunday 14th December 2014 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

The British public will get to vote on their favourite sports personality of the year in a glittering televised awards ceremony tonight.

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014 is taking place at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow, and will be attended by Prince Harry.

The shortlisted nominees are footballer Gareth Bale, dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin, boxer Carl Froch, skiier Kelly Gallagher and guide Charlotte Evans, Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton, golfer Rory McIlroy, athlete Jo Pavey, swimmer Adam Peaty, gymnast Max Whitlock, and skeleton racer Lizzy Yarnold.

The 10 shortlisted contenders will compete for the public vote on tonight’s live show, which will be presented by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan on BBC One.

Three contenders remain in the running for Young Sports Personality of the Year – gymnast Claudia Fragapane, para-cyclist Sophie Thornhill and golfer Bradley Neil – and the winner will chosen by a secret ballot among a panel of judges.

Harry will present a special award to wounded service personnel who took part in the first Invictus Games.

The Helen Rollason Award will be presented to UK team captain Dave Henson, in the presence of 30 competitors and on behalf of all 413 people who took part in the inaugural games in September.

The Helen Rollason award is presented in memory of the BBC presenter, who died from cancer in 1999 at the age of 43.

Published: Sunday 14th December 2014 by The News Editor

Comments (0)

Local business search